The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn and relearn. Agree or disagree.

In recent years, there has been a dramatic rise of literate people globally who have reached the pinnacle of their academic life. While most people believe that there is an increasing need for people to learn faster and expose themselves to a constant learning phase, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why it is necessary for people to be capable of learning, unlearning and relearning.

To begin with, one strong argument held by those that believe learning phase is limited to one's academic life is that people with growing age have different responsibilities and priorities in life. For example, the notion that if pilots secure their aviation license during their initial career, then there is nothing new to learn is quite prevalent. In addition, people generally associate the task of learning to be uninteresting and unproductive as they grow older.

However, there are several arguments in favour of the concept of learning and relearning in the 21st century. In our competitive world, professionals set themselves apart from the herd by constantly learning new skills while working. Furthermore, for some complex tasks, they are required to unlearn things previously learnt in order to grasp new ideas. Software professionals, for instance, are always skilling up to keep themselves updated with the latest technologies. Another reason is that humans are constantly testing the limits of its scientific prowess, which consequently, requires it to be at a constant learning phase.

To conclude, despite the laxity of some towards learning, humans of this century are undergoing a constant learning phase in order to excel and succeed in their respective professions. In my opinion, our constant endeavour of learning and applying what we learnt is what makes humankind so successful.