Xenophobia has accelerated rapidly in the Western countries. According to you what solutions can be proposed by the government and individuals?

In recent years, there has been a dramatic rise in xenophobic behaviour by people globally as a direct result of globalization. This behaviour in an individual is characterised by dislike towards people of other nationalities. This essay will discuss the reasons why it is so prevalent and explore solutions that the government and public can undertake.

To begin with, one strong argument for a xenophobic attitude among western people is the feeling of insecurity due to increased foreign-sponsored terrorist activities. For instance, Muslims are looked at with suspicion and disgust across America and Europe due to increased instances of Muslim immigrants being responsible for terror activities. Another reason is job scarcity. Immigrants are generally ready to work on menial, underpaid or ad-hoc work that results in a significant loss of employment opportunities for the local public.

However, several steps are being undertaken by the governments to curb or eliminate xenophobia from the general public. Awareness programmes and community outreach activities are being conducted to ensure that the local population welcome foreign tourists or immigrants. Moreover, stringent background checks and thorough security verification of immigrants have reduced cases of terrorist attacks. In addition, the administration is trying to bring more employment opportunities so that there is no dearth for them. While Individuals are contributing by altering their mindset and setting aside prejudices.

To conclude, despite the prevalence of xenophobia worldwide, several governments have taken necessary steps to assuage these concerns and helped promote a healthy environment suitable for migration of people. In my opinion, a combined effort by individuals and the government is essential to root off this attitude from the masses.