A planet is suffering from many problems, which is the biggest of these and what things are needed to be done to resolve it?

In recent years, our planet, the Earth has undergone a tremendous change not only in terms of a drastic rise in inhabitants but also climate change. This essay will discuss the reasons why climate change is the greatest problem affecting our contemporary world, which has endangered the existence of several species globally and provide some solutions to overcome it.

To begin with, there are several reasons in favour of climate change being the single largest challenge faced by our planet. The advent of industrialization and globalization has exerted an unprecedented strain on the earth's resources, which are being utilized at a pace far superior to what it takes to replenish them. This has resulted in catastrophic consequences. Global warming has caused the temperatures to soar worldwide and has caused glaciers to melt at an alarming rate, thereby increasing sea levels substantially. In addition, this increased temperature of the atmosphere has brought several species to the point of extinction. Consequently, the planet is experiencing severe droughts, floods and tornadoes.

However, there are favourable steps that are being undertaken by governments and authorities globally to resolve this concern. Firstly, the governments have realised that the dependence of non-renewable sources of energy is the primary reason for the release of gases in the atmosphere that has resulted in global climate change. Therefore, electric vehicles are being promoted. To reduce the presence of greenhouse gases, more trees are being planted along with the conservation of existing rain forests. For example, several trees capable of storing higher levels of CO2 have been planted to enhance its absorption.

To conclude, climate change is the biggest challenge faced by our planet and humankind. In my opinion, a combined sincere effort by all the governments and people is essential to protect our planet from its detrimental effects.