The Information revolution has changed the way of mass communications and had some negative and positive effects on individual lives as well as on society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the information technology revolution in mass communication has enabled human civilizations to prosper. While most people believe that it has been extremely beneficial and an indispensable part of human life, others oppose this idea. This essay will discuss both sides and provide reasons why it has been a positive development.

To begin with, one strong argument where information technology has adversely affected humans is the dissemination of misleading and distorted information. For example, political parties are known to share misleading information of rival parties to influence public perception. Moreover, terrorists or miscreants use mass communication mediums for nefarious activities. Another disadvantage has been job loss due to the closing of operation of businesses that operated on traditional methods of communication. Thus, negative effects have been observed to an extent.

However, there are several arguments in favour of information technology transforming the way people communicate due to technological modernization in mass communication media. The Internet, for instance, has allowed people from geographically distant places to not only be connected but also made them more aware of the global events. In addition, it has enabled several new businesses like Google and Facebook to prosper. Contrary to what some people believe, it has provided employment and source of livelihood to millions of people. Although there are instances of fake news being shared through mass media platforms, it accounts for a meagre proportion. Overall, technology advancement has greatly improved the lives of humans.

To conclude, despite some disadvantages of information technology, it has played a cardinal part in shaping the modern world we live in. In my opinion, innovations in this area will continue to benefit people worldwide and usher an age of further prosperity.