Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem. What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Many countries are facing a scarcity of fresh water from a long time, but it has now emerged as a global issue due to the uprising demand. This is happening because of the over usage of advanced machinery for use in daily work. However, this can be easily controlled by proper education and sagacious use. The following paragraphs of this essay will delineate pertinent reasons to support this understanding.

Various new electronic machines have been invented to support owners in household activities, but consume plenty of water. These devices follow protocols that function in a sequential manner and consume water separately for each phase, such as washing machine first inlets water for washing and then for rinsing. Furthermore, these do not focus on reusing existing water due to which plenty of water gets drained after each wash. To illustrate, a fully automatic washing machine requires nine liters of water per two kilograms of clothes. This is double the amount used if the same quantity is washed manually.

There are several measures that the government and individuals can take to curb this issue. A preponderant one is for the government to spread awareness about the problem and educate people on the ways to conserve water. At the same time, the public should use their wise judgment to limit the wastage such as avoiding the use of machines to the extent possible or running them at full capacity, so that the input water is used effectively. Similar measures have already been incorporated by many nations and deemed successful. For example, as per the recent report published in a lifestyle magazine highlights that China has reduced its water consumption to a substantial 40% in the last five years by adopting water conservation techniques.

To recapitulate, growing demands for clean water are on a continuous trend because of the high use of electronic devices to save human efforts. Nonetheless, it can be easily controlled by minimizing the use of automated machines and spreading awareness.