Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

Water is certainly an irreplaceable resource of energy. With an increase in pollution and continuous consumption of natural sources, the increasing demand for water which initially was an issue in some countries has now turned into a major worldwide problem. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons behind this growing demand and various actions required by governments and individuals.

There are two major causes for the fresh water scarcity issue. Firstly, industrialization is polluting the major channels of water like rivers, at an exponential rate. Statistics have shown that industrial wastes being produced from factories of developing countries are major contributors to water pollution. Furthermore, the second main reason for this global problem is an increase in pollution. With the population of billions of people, there is a tremendous upliftment in the utilization of fresh water. Subsequently, there has been a massive rise in the amount of non-disposable garbage like plastics being thrown in rivers, these activities are infecting water.

The issue of fresh water shortage requires immediate actions. In my opinion, governments of all countries should form a united organization to deal with this problem. Some strict laws could be imposed on all countries. For instance, disposal of factories wastes into fresh water should be banned, and in case of violation, a heavy penalty would be taken from the defaulter. Moreover, each citizen must make their vital contributions in the resolution of this problem. Every individual could reduce the usage of water and shouldn’t throw the waste inside fresh water sources.

To recapitulate, fresh water scarcity is a matter of an utmost concern among all the nations. It is a high time that each individual must take responsibility to preserve this crucial resource; moreover, the government of all countries should collectively take some important measures to overcome this global problem.