Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Threat of global warming is undeniably one of the major issues faced by the world these days. The main causes of this dangerous situation of changing environment are rapid economic development and increase of transportation, which are being discussed in the below paragraphs along with some effective solutions which can be implemented.

One of the biggest reasons of global warming is irrefutably the urbanisation and development in the last few decades. We are constructing the commercial and residential buildings at war-levels to meet the demands of our growing world, which is producing huge urban clutter. This tons of wastage never finds its way to the effective disposal and is detrimental to our flora and fauna and destroying our eco-system. Another prime source of dangerous levels of pollution in the world is the harmful gases produced by our vehicles. According to one recent international study, transportation accounts for almost 28% to the emission of green-house gases globally. These vehicles run on the scarce natural resources like fossil fuels which is also acting like a double-edged sword by leaving less options for human survival.

There are plethora of solutions being discussed each day to fight with this threatening situation on the individual's as well as the government's level. The strategy of 3R should be adopted by both the parties which are equally accountable and affected by this. The term or the process 3R involves Repair, Re-use and Recycle. At the personal front, rather than buying anything new people must make a resolution to either repair the old products or after use donate them to the needy persons. And the governments should provide adequate facilities to either recycle these products or have a plan to dispose them off without any harmful effects on the environment and this plan can be made at the initial stage while designing and developing these products. This can only be done with the intervention of the authorities as it might includes some kind of stringent law making and setting up few benchmarks for the production of goods and services.

In conclusion, it can be said that despite a lot being done at the international level by the agencies like United nations and other conventions signed from time to time to control the causes behind the global warming, the steps are not effective enough to curb this menace and therefore it is suggested that citizens should become more aware and take active part to solve this major issue.