Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is recommended by some people that the governing authority should concentrate on investing funds in public utilities rather than in the entertainment industry. I completely align my opinion with this view because it will lead to human capital development and societal advancement. This essay will x-ray my reasons for supporting government expenditure on public infrastructure.

To begin with, one of the most probable reason for the call to divert public funds into people oriented services is because it can foster human capital development. This is as a result of the fact that no nation functions effectively without human resources, such that when the people are ignored in the affairs of things, the society experiences decline. To illustrate, the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals prioritized human capital development over other things due to the fact that it is the lifeblood of the nation. Hence, more money should go to public service delivery.

On another hand, while it is true that the entertainment industry has great contributions to the wealth of a country, the annual appropriation of the government should lean more on the side of providing social amenities because it would lead to transformation of the society. The people must be able to access things like good roads, pipe bourne water, and efficient healthcare system as this are used to measure growth and success. For instance, the Nigeria government has pledge to spend more on these infrastructures in order to meet up with developed nations.

In conclusion, spending government resources on the arts may be a good step to take, but it is not as beneficial as spending on people driven projects and services. In fact compared with the later, the former is a waste of valuable resources.