The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

Smoking has always been considered as the real detriment to the people whether it is a passive smoking or an active one. Many people strongly assert that smoking should be prohibited in the communal areas by the corresponding authorities. I completely disagree to the above mention point due to the reasons presented hereinafter.

Firstly, despite the fact that cigarette fume is proven to be dangerous, restriction to smoke in public places will indeed violate the mental health of those who smoke. Smoking is not a selective action as it happens to be a real chemical dependency for some long-term smokers. When the evil habit persists for many years, one cannot just quit for a day or even for two hours. The suitable situation was when my friend, Alexey, travelled from Moscow to Irkutsk by the train and was forbidden to smoke all the time equaling to 4 days! Therefore, administration should not disable smoking overnight without considering the citizens’ calmness and psychological health issues.

Moreover, drawing the line between a public place and the private property is quite difficult. If the Government is willing to introduce a taboo on smoking in public areas, they can declare a balcony public as it is facing the street. Corresponding to the Law, people are allowed to engage whatever they imagine in their property so that kind of prohibition can be estimated as a straight human rights violation. For example, for my friend Renata, smoking on the balcony led to the situation when her neighbors threatened to sue, as the corresponding law exists in Russia. Thereby, it can be inferred that smoking restriction bounds and sometimes offends human rights and freedoms.

In conclusion, several important arguments have been considered in favor of not prohibiting smoking, such as psychic health and the human rights interruption. Thus, I conclude that smoking in public areas should remain untouched to save peoples' calm, rights and freedom.