The government should put more tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to eat healthy food.

Do you agree or disagree?

In the past people ate healthy food, however, nowadays it has been observed that individuals prefer to eat spicy and oily dishes. In line with this, a certain school of thoughts believes that government should impose high tax on junk food to ensure that people understand the value of healthy eating healthy food. I tend to disagree with this view. I believe that this is not practical solution to tackle the issue. In my discourse ahead, I will not only support my opinion with justifying reasons, but also highlight certain contradictory views that others in the society might possibly have.

The primary reason for my belief is that imposing high taxes on unhealthy food does not seem pragmatic to convince foodies to eat healthy food. It is evidently true that there are individuals who pay high bills if they get good according to their choice. For example, despite of introducing 2.5% additional tax on pizza by the Canadian government in 2019, still people prefer to eat it by paying additional charges. Another noteworthy reason for me to uphold my view is that execution of other initiatives would give better results to change folk’s eating habits. It is an undeniable truth that certain campaigns run by the local authority would help to aware educate people about dire consequences of eating unhealthy food. For instance, in 2018 the Indian government celebrated world health day by running campaign to sensitize mass about negatives of spicy food on their health which proved to be successful.

On the other hand, there are individuals who hold a contradictory view to the above discussion believe that the higher taxes on unhealthy imposed by bureaucrat convince people to eat food that is good for their health. One of the possible reasons for their inclination could be that high food price stops individuals to eat unhealthy food. Every individual in the society cannot afford costly food. So, they might opt food that is economic and healthy for their health. Their belief also originates from the fact that high taxes reduce interest of shopkeepers to sell unhygienic food. This is because owing to high rate, people would not spend money to eat costly food, so restaurant businessmen do not get enough profit that ultimately reduces their interest to sell unhealthy food.

To conclude, evidently there are those who think that the administrative department should impose high additional tax on unhealthy food in order to change people’s preference to eat healthy food. However, I disagree with this view and I am of the firm opinion that there are myriad other impactful measures that can be taken by the local