government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Railways are considered to be one of the fastest means of transport. Some people think that governments should allocate more budget for railway system maintenance as compared to roads. In my opinion, roads are the ones which require much attention of the concerned authorities as compared to trains.

To start with, roads provide a route for different types of transports like cars, motorbikes and other heavy vehicles. All these vehicles facilitate people to conveniently reach their destination whenever they want to go. For example, people have to wait for the trains to arrive at a specific time and for this, they have to be on time, but if they choose their private transport then they do not have to bind to time limitations and for this reason, people mostly use roads. Moreover, railways demand very high fares especially on any festival when people are most willing to meet their relatives residing out of city or town, so they have to pay a high cost for travelling in the train. As a result, most people choose the roads to travel.

On the contrary, trains provide fast travel than roads. Sometimes when people have to reach somewhere in short time they choose railways. In addition, rail travel is much safer than the road as the journey is pollution free, people do not have to deal with traffic jam, suffocation and low chances of accidents.

In conclusion, although trains facilitate people in some ways, but travelling through roads is more convenient for people so prefer highways for moving from one place to another. So, governments should invest more in developing roads other than railways.