some people say that in all levels of education, from primary to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that more time is dedicated to theoretical work as compared to practical work in all educational levels either it's elementary, secondary, graduation or post-graduation. I also agree with this statement due to some practices which are followed conventionally in almost all educational institutions.

To start with, the main site of focus at every level is theory. This is because learning facts rather than applying them practically helps both teachers and students to cover syllabus thoroughly and quickly. For example, at school, we were taught many chemical reactions that we were keen to perform and asked our teachers for practicing them in the lab but they denied due to lack of time. Moreover, some practicals are considered to be more money consuming. For instance, at the graduate level, we had to study the technique of electron microscopy but were unable to perform it practically as an electron microscope is such an expensive instrument that only a few labs can afford to buy it.

On the other hand, some people also disagree with the opinion because some institutes are there whose ground focus of learning is practical. As they can afford costly experimental equipment. To exemplify, some schools like Beacon house are there who give priority to practical learning and able to afford these expenses to educate their students. Furthermore, research institutes where post-graduation studies are conducted such as ICCBS, the entire course is dependent on the practical application of the learned techniques, it is there people argue that much of the time is utilized in learning through practicals.

In conclusion, I believe that the major part of the students’ entire education is based on learning theoretically. However, there are exceptional cases where people can claim contrary to this view.