Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Teaching methodology plays a prominent role in academic development of a student. A better part of society believes that educational institutions tend to focus more on theoretical knowledge instead of practical one. I agree with the statement as this monotonous way of teaching has been going on since ages. But what I believe is, now is the time to bring a change and shift towards more of a demonstration based learning.

Firstly, no one can deny the fact that even today, most of the subjects are theory based rather than practical ones. Bringing a change into the system while giving more attention to the demonstration part of these subjects would help learners to grasp more quickly as they would not be getting bored, which eventually will result in more focus by them. There have been numerous experiments in some educational institutions wherein even the non-practical subjects were taught by using some props instead of going with the old school way of teaching. These experiments literally outweighed the results when compared with the general way of teaching. It is because of this increase in focus and quick learning that they were able to understand things in a much better way and remember whatever was being taught for a better part of their life, something that may not be true in case of regular model of learning.

Secondly, it is not uncommon that in theoretical subjects, teachers normally expect book based answers and not the creative ones. This in turn would restrict the creative ability of those students who are not good at mugging up, as they cannot express their understanding of the topic in their own way and words. There has been a survey in Stanford University in USA, wherein students who had better IQ scores performed way too low in theory subjects, as they had to write the answers as per the books and not with their understanding of the topic. One can even provide a better understanding of the topic when he/she is not restricted to a particular way of doing things-a process which is followed by some of the European countries like Finland, Sweden, and Norway (countries with best ranking in education system and institutions in entire world).

Therefore to conclude, conceptual based learning is prioritized by teaching institutions over applied one, but with major focus on practical sessions, these institutions would make the student’s future better.