Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

There is no deny that education and knowledge are paramount to succeed in this world. Experts such as pedagogic and researchers support the notion that today educational institutions are more focused on course curriculum rather than educating students and professionals on real world skills. On balance, I would argue that their influence is not entirely malign and does have its own sets of perks.

The first point worth making is that factual knowledge and understanding of fundamentals is vital. Subjects such as history, science, biology and mathematics tend to have quite significant practical implementations. So, learning facts for such fields is a critical necessity and hence they are taught from sophomores to graduates level of education. Such as, a doctor does need to have in-depth expertise of diseases and how to cure them without which his education is worthless.

However, I would be skeptical about the aforementioned benefits as their are multifarious qualities which are not part of the academic course structure. Skills such as communication, planning, team-building and goal-settings are lacking in the formal way of education system. For instance: how to deal with a difficult client; meeting a tight deadline on a project which are necessary attributes to succeed in a corporate world. Another point to taken into consideration is that the education establishment spends significant time on grades and bookish knowledge and have far lesser inclination towards either pursuing excellence in particular field or developing cognitive abilities to tackle real life challenges.

In conclusion, it would be ridiculous to argue that the influence of educational institutions has been entirely negative. Yet, to some extend, it is fair to describe it as insidious. I accept that some changes need to amend in the course structure so that they are more in alignment to requirements of outside world where children and students have to compete and become successful.