Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. they sat that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Most of the times household debris is not recycled and is thrown away. So, many people think that it should be the government who must enforce a law on the public for reutilization of the materials that can be recycled. I also think that there should be such a law as it is beneficial for individuals as well as for the country.

Firstly, usually people do not obey laws, if any action is not taken on their negligence, but they strictly follow the rules and regulations, violation of which leads to severe punishment or penalties. For example, if traffic rules do not abide by individuals, then they have to face action against them. Consequently, they never try to break the law. Therefore, enacting a law for reprocessing of garbage will force people to sort out the thrown away waste ultimately recycling of some useable products.

Secondly, reprocessing helps in building a country’s economy as it leads to the manufacturing of materials that are of incredible benefit to the nation. Recently, students from the University of Karachi who work on waste reproduction, have claimed that if they are given a chance they can generate electricity from the litter. Pakistan has been already scarce in electricity production, hence if this goal is accomplished this would be a remarkable outcome of recycling waste.

On the contrary, before imposing a law for recirculation of garbage, the government should run an awareness campaign about the importance of this issue either by advertisements or organizing seminars in different parts of the country. Moreover, children in school must be taught the principle of reuse, reduce and recycle. As a result, they will act upon it in their homes also thus, will also compel their elders to follow this rule.

In conclusion, enacting law is necessary to make people stick to the process of recycling, as it is of great advantage to the countrymen as well as the nation itself. But some knowledge should be provided by the authorities so people can act upon the law, lest they do not get punished without any awareness.