Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that an individual’s attire is an indicative of his culture and personality. Although to a little extent clothes can be representative of traditions of a specific society, but I think they have nothing to do with a person’s character.

To start with, clothes necessarily do not show a cultural heritage as sometimes people from different culture try to copy the dress code of a certain nation since they like it a lot. For example, my classmate who belonged to Turkey really loved to wear Pakistan’s traditional dresses so no one was able to recognize that she belongs to a different culture. Also, sometimes students who go abroad try to copy the attire of the country where they are residing because they may have to combat severe climatic conditions.

Likewise, the clothes do symbolize the religion of a particular nation. For example, Muslim women wear hijab, which is their recognition. Sikhs wear turbans as their identity. So, in terms of religious identity we can say that clothing can indicate a bit about an individual’s customs and traditions.

On the contrary, a person’s dressing sense does not show his character. It is only the matter of his likes and dislikes. Moreover, due to globalization, people are now linked to a variety of cultures and traditions, so ideas about unique dressing styles and designs that are existing in any culture, are now exchanged throughout the world. Consequently, each and every person has a quick approach to the latest fashions, and then they wear which seems most appealing to them.

In conclusion, nevertheless, costumes essentially are not the signature of a culture, but they can give a clue about the religious status, hence tells a little about the culture but they can never be a symbol of a person’s character.