Space exploration costs taxpayers exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Nowadays, astronauts have become keen to discover the space, in order to explore the universe. So, a huge sum of money is spent on space research each year. The advantages of utilizing the money for this purpose are apparent, but its disadvantages are also to be taken into account.

To start with, money spent on space exploration programs is beneficial as scientists are trying to find the clues of life on other planets. In recent research, traces of water have been found on Mars, so they suggest that life can exist there, and if this is possible it will be a tremendous achievement as water is already getting short on earth. Moreover, there are some heavenly bodies in the space that produce radiations, which are harmful to the ozone layer, are also examined by the astronauts as to save the earth from the damaging effects of these rays.

On the flip side, other than spending money in the search for space, life on earth is in more financial need. Much of the amount obtained from the tax should be spent for the betterment of humanity. For example, these days the world is getting scarce of water therefore, money should be spent on discovering underground sources of water not out of the space. Space exploration is of no assistance if humanity on the earth is not getting all the comforts of life.

In conclusion, a large sum of money derived from the taxes consumed in discovering other worlds can be useful, but it will be a disadvantage if humans have not benefited from it.