Many governments invest a great deal of money in space research. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

For generations, space research has brought about curiosity in people across the globe. Some countries allocate substantial chunk of their annual budget to study the possibilities available in the untouched territory. In this essay, I will elaborate what I consider to be the notable benefits and possible drawbacks of investing such a high amount to this cause.

With regards to the advantages of exploring other parts of our universe, there are two clear points. The predominant benefit of this activity is that it has led to major breakthrough discoveries in the field of science. We have not only found new materials and elements, but have also created useful products which help mankind. Curiosity rover, for instance, was sent to Mars last year and according to NASA, has identified new types of minerals in the soil. Another potential merit in favor of this exploration is that we can have an other planet to live on incase of unforeseen circumstances on Earth due to climate change. SapceX, for example, is one such organisation that is highly investing in colonizing Mars for the future.

On the other hand, however, there are some drawbacks to spending the taxpayers hard earned money on studying the unknown. The primary disadvantage is that it is extreemly expensive to develop rockets to send to outer space. Some governments dedicate a hefty amount towards this whereas important causes like healthcare and education get neglected. The other significant demeirt is that is very dangerous to send humans to explore the unknown. A case in point is the renowend astronaut Kalpana Singh, to was part of the spcaceship that crashed while landing on earth during the mars exploration.

In conclusion, although science and humankind are benefiting from the research conducted in this area, it is important to look at what cost are we paying for these discoveries.