Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays advertisements are considered to be the best source to increase the sale of products. However, these top-notch advertises do not always match with the basic necessities of the people. I think it is true to some extent that promotion of goods through media display enhances the goods’ sale, but they are not always according to what people actually need.

To start with, producers try to make advertisements attractive to compel people to buy their products. Companies hire famous celebrities to ensure people about the quality of their products. For example, I have seen many TV commercials in which celebrities guarantee the liability of the product. Also, candies, chocolate, and other kids commercials are made so much colourful and full of fantasy that children get fascinated with them and force their parents to buy those things. Consequently, increasing the sale of products that are beyond the needs of people.

On the contrary, although advertises make some contribution to sales, but it is mainly the need that constrains people to buy certain goods. When in need, we ultimately buy things. Moreover, a product's demand is increased after getting the results that it was claimed for. For example, I bought a shampoo that was newly introduced in the market. My friend suggested me to use it. It really showed a brilliant effect, and when I went to buy it again, it was out of stock and there were many people who were demanding for the same. Furthermore, mostly, people do not purchase things by watching advertisements as they are satisfied with what they are using conventionally. To exemplify, some people who use their homemade spices never get satisfied with the market spices, no matter whatever is claimed about their quality in commercials.

In conclusion, advertisers may make people convinced to buy things that they do not really need, but it is not always the case as only a few people are persuaded by them. It is the necessity that makes people get whatever they want.