Government spends much money on education. More money should be spent on free-time activities. To what extend do you agree or

disagree?

It is a fact that countries are spending a lot of money on education, and they are ignoring the recreational activities, which are as important. Here, I am in an opine that the government should allocate more funds for such leisure time activities. Several arguments surround my opinion.

Undoubtedly, most government’s concern is the progress of the nation. Hence they are spending a lot in the education sector, as the educated people will be paid high and in-turn it will boost the economy of the country. An educated society is believed to be crime-free and peaceful. Hence, the literacy rate is considered to be the factor which determines the status of the country around the world.

However, spending on free-time activities is equally important. Activities like music, art, athletics and organizations teach students to be disciplined and organized; this will eventually help them in academics as well. Also, extra-curricular activities in the arts uplift their analytical and creative abilities.

Furthermore, life is stressful, and free-time activities act as a stress-busters. Healthy people are needed for a healthy community which finally converges to a healthy country. These activities break the monotony of the hectic day-to-day life. They also build community spirit among people as during free time people meet each other and socialize. It is the responsibility of the government to provide stadiums, playgrounds, gyms and community centres where people can do free-time activities.

To sum up, I would like to reiterate my opinion that apart from education, spending on recreational activities is a must. These activities are as important as education for the overall development of any society.