In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion on this?

In many parts of the US, children are not allowed to roam at night without parents supervision due to the imposition of a “curfew”. In my opinion, this step devoid them of their fundamental human right to move out freely, and this could hinder their confidence during adulthood.

To begin with, it is a fundamental right to human to wander around, which is guaranteed by the constitution of the US. Restricting young generation from going out is like stripping them from their fundamental right. Of course, being out at night impose many threats to the teens, but preventing them from going out is not a viable solution. Instead, teachers and parents can educate them and make aware of the vicious crimes such as robbery, rape, kidnapping and many others that are prevalent during night hours. When the children are equipped with the knowledge and technology, they will be able to safeguard themselves and can safely roam at any time of the day or night.

Additionally, moving out only with parents outside during late hours are not a feasible solution, as many child’s parents or caretakers work late hours. For instance, teenage children of nurses, doctors and many other frontline workers are alone at night. If these children want to go out at night, it would be not easy to find an adult to accompany them. It can put them in trouble if they have some urgent errand to run or if they have to attend some night parties. These children will be reluctant to move out in any case of emergency because of the fear.

To recapitulate, in my opinion, children should be allowed to move out at night. They should be empowered with knowledge and technology so they can safeguard themselves. This not only makes them independent and confident but also give them the freedom to make their own choice in life.