lt is generally believed that education is of vital importance to the development of individuals and the wellbeing of societies. what should education consist of to fulfil both these functions?

It is indubitable that education plays a significant role in the progress of the individual and society. Education is a companion, which no future can depress, no enemy can alienate, no crime can destroy, and no nepotism can enslave. This essay intends to analyze what should be included in the education system so that it can uplift the individual and society.

First of all, education should impart Professional Knowledge which helps the individual to get a better job and helps them to earn his bread and butter. Eventually, the society will sustain and self-sufficient with the income, and they won’t go in the path of crime.

Physical education also plays a vital role in health development of an individual. It is a well-known fact that healthy individuals would make a healthy society. Hence, physical activities should be integrated into the school system. As the children are our next generation and it’s easy to inculcate the sense of being healthy and its importance to them. Finally, it will help for the holistic development of individual and healthy society.

Education should also teach moral values, which makes us adaptive to society. There will be less crime in society as people are educated. People will co-operate with each and live in harmony among the community. Moral science should also be a compulsory subject until the high school level.

Finally, today, environmental education is the need of the hour. All the schools must have a mandatory lesson on saving the environment. Small steps can go a long way in saving energy. Energy saved is energy generated. So it’s an individual responsibility to go away with some luxury, for a better tomorrow.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that education should have professional, physical, moral and environmental components. After all, “Education is not the filling up of a pail but lighting up of a fire”. A well-rounded education consisting of all the ingredients above mentioned will benefit not only the individual but also the society as a whole.