Nowadays in many countries household waste e.g. food packaging is increasing day by day. What are the causes for that? How can this

problem be solved?

The population in the world is burgeoning; as a result, household wastes production is also increasing alarmingly. Roughly, 50 tonnes of household waste is being produced every second, and this number is projected to double by 2030. This essay intends to analyze the reasons for this phenomenon and suggest steps to mitigate the problem.

To begin with, the modern lifestyle has contributed greatly towards the increasing amount of waste and garbage we produce every day. In other words, we have turned into a materialistic and mass-consumption society, where we use more and throw away more than ever before. Once, new things are acquired, we dispose-off these “unwanted” things to second-hand shops, or just in the trash cans.

Secondly, the markets today are flooded with cheap, single-use items that are more in demand than high priced quality items. Our houses and closets seem to be overflowing with goods that are more in quantity and less in value. Then, there is too much packing done by companies to make their more striking. Mostly, this packing is made from non-biodegradable products, such as plastics. Even though the governments implement laws against the use of plastics, the people are flouting the laws.

The solution lies in changing our attitude. We should get old things repaired and try to use them as long as possible. We should not buy things with excessive packaging. This will deter companies from doing too much packing. We can also bring our shopping bags instead of taking plastic bags from stores and shops. Besides, the government can enforce stricter laws and hefty fine on companies which uses non-biodegradable packaging. Furthermore, plastics, metals, and glass can be recycled. Companies can also contribute by developing new raw material, which is recyclable and will ultimately lead to less garbage.

To sum up, there are many reasons for the increase in household waste being generated. However, some simple steps can be taken to ameliorate the problem; it is the onus of individuals to reduce waste. If we do not take steps to tackle this problem on a war footing, our earth will become un-inhabitable very soon.