Some people think governments should focus on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems to help people prevent illness and disease. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is indubitable that people’s health depends on environmental and housing problems. Some of the people are in the opinion that the government should take care of this problem. I, however, disagree with this notion. I believe that even though the government should address environmental pollution and housing scarcity, there are many other things in which the government should spend to prevent ill health.

Indeed, environmental pollution and housing problems are the two main source of illness and disease. For instance, a country like India, there are a lot of people who live in slums due to overpopulation. In such a scenario there is a rapid chance of spread of contagious diseases such as common flu and other deadly viruses. Moreover, they are deprived of clean water and air because of pollution. So, if the government provide basic housing and take care of environmental pollution, such issues can be avoided to an extent.

However, simply having an overlook into the environmental and housing issues would not solve the problem. The government should spend its budget on health facilities and clinics such that everyone has the access to basic health care. Even they can support by providing free medicine or immunization for a preventable disease like polio, measles and many others. All over the world, governments are providing free pulse polio vaccine to eradicate this disease. Furthermore, in this current era cancer is one of the common diseases, it will be cheaper if treated at the earlier stage, so the government can introduce a scheme to have a screen test during medical check-ups.

Additionally, awareness among the people is imperative, it is the onus of the government to have mass awareness campaigns to let people know about the things which they need to do and not. To exemplify, even if the government provide housing to all, but the people keep stagnant water in coolers and other areas, dengue can spread like an epidemic and all government efforts will go in vain.

To recapitulate, simply giving priority to environmental pollution and housing will not prevent all disease. The government should allocate funds to other things such as basic health and awareness of the people also to prevent disease.