A large amount of advertisements nowadays are now targetted on children. Many people say this has negative effects on children and

should therefore be banned. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Advertisements are ubiquitous nowadays, especially the ones that are targeting the children as these industries know that children are vulnerable. Many are worried about this phenomenon. However, we cannot ban advertisement as they serve many useful purposes as well.

Admittedly, in the toy industries, there should be some restriction on excess access to such advertisements, because children cannot distinguish between what they want and beneficial. They will get allured to the aesthetics and design and swayed by such misleading pieces of information. Later on, children will pester for the product they admire, and this can upset the budget of the family. Even the advertisement for fast foods is bad for children. They cannot understand the side effects of such food as these foods can be detrimental to their health, causing disease like obesity. The advertisements on these junk foods are aesthetically appealing and yummy, but in reality, the content on that food chemical which can exacerbate the health. Adding on, the children try to imitate the stunts performed in some advertisements which can turn disastrous sometimes.

On the other hand, advertisement plays a vital role in the consumer industry. People won’t be able to buy or get to know every new product launched in electronics and many others. In this way, advertising become useful for manufacturers and consumers. Additionally, it fuels advertising industries and creates many jobs for people. In this aspect, the advertising industry becomes the backbone of many economies in the world.

Furthermore, advertisement touches on social issues. For example, when some celebrity tells of bringing their children for pulse polio immunization, people will listen. Similarly, when cricketer Rahul Dravid, about the side effects of smoking, people will at least try to avoid their lousy habit. Also, the advertisement around the world helps people to understand the culture of a different location.

To conclude, it is imperative that regulations must be imposed on advertiser who target children or who make false claims. However, advertisements are indispensable in this competitive market and produce much positive effect than negative. Hence, we should not ban advertisements.