All over the world, people watch foreign films much more than locally produced films. Why? Should the government provide financial

support to local film industries?

Foreign films such as Hollywood blockbusters are released all over the world and enjoyed more than locally produced films. This essay intends to explain the reasons behind the phenomenon and also discuss whether the government should provide financial support to these local film industry.

The primary reason for the urge towards watching a foreign film is that they are using the most modern technology. For instance, the visual effects and acoustics of the movie Avatar won the global audience. What is more, these kinds of movies are produced by giant companies that have the money and means to generate huge publicity for them. Today, we all know that marketing is what decides the fate of the product- be film, gadget or whatever. In contrast, locally produced films are produced by small production houses and on top of that, they have a familiar storyline that may not interest some people. That probably explains why most people watch foreign films rather than locally produced ones.

Another significant reason for watching foreign films is that people are curious to know about foreign culture and lifestyle. Today, we do not belong to a big planet Earth; we belong to a global village. So, people are exposed to different cultures and watching foreign movies to satiates their curiosity of knowing about them. Now, it’s the era of web-series, a lot of people are watching these foreign web-series in order to have a deeper insight into the foreign language, as this is the best way to learn a language.

I firmly believe that the government should invest in the local film industry. To begin with, films reflects the countries culture. Supporting these local film industries enables to spread its culture to the world and is an essential approach to showcase the power of the nation. Secondly, the boom of this industry would, to a large extent, produce an increasing number of job positions and consequently, the unemployment rate will substantially decrease, which will contribute to the economy.

To recapitulate, people are watching foreign films because of their better technology and to satisfy the curiosity of foreign culture. The government should promote the local film industry for spreading our culture and for boosting the economy.