ln recent years the family has changed as well as family roles. Why is this happening and is this situation positive or negative?

Changes are inevitable in nature and with changing times the family’s inner construction, along with the position of its members, has also changed. This essay intends to analyse the reasons for this trend. Personally, I, believe that the situation has both advantages and disadvantages.

Firstly, globalisation has contributed significantly to change in the trend of social structure and reformed family roles. The exposure to foreign cultures has changed the people’s mindset, and also redefined the role of women in the family. Women are no longer limited to household chores and are working shoulder to shoulder with men. The reins of the household are no longer in the hands of the man, the bread-earner, of the family.

The second major reason for this change in the fabric of the family is the economic condition. Since it is challenging to maintain a family with many members and to make ends meet, it is more feasible to keep the size of the family small. Thus, according to a recent study, the nuclear family has risen in popularity in the last two decades.

The modification in the family structure and roles has brought about many benefits. Firstly, it has led to an egalitarian society, where gender differences are disappearing, and woman can also fulfil their dreams and ambition. The society has also benefited from a greater labour force.

On the other side, the bonds between family members are being weakened. Since most parents have to spend time working, their children are left unattended or sent to daycare centres. The shrinkage in family size also results in more elders being sent to old-age home instead of staying with their children and grandchildren.

To recapitulate, culture and economic changes contribute to the change in family structure and responsibilities among the members. While this trend positively contributes to gender equality and strengthens the labour force, it has also detrimental effects on family relationships.