The number of TV programs is growing day by day. Some people say it is good as it gives people more choices, while others say it affects the quality of TV programs. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Television has become the most prevalent of all media, and there is no doubt that the number of TV programs has also grown by leaps and bounds in the last two decades. Some individuals opine that this gives us a plethora of choices, whereas others believe that this is leading to a deterioration of the quality of TV programs. This essay intends to look into both perspectives. I, however, side with the latter view.

Too many TV programs will give a lot of choices for the people. For instance, if we look at the number of daily soaps, there are quite a few running on many different channels and people can select any one or two according to their taste. Even reality shows related to music, dance, adventure and many other things are also far too many and people watch whichever they are interested in.

Secondly, some reality shows have allowed the common man with talent to come forward and show his talent to the world. To exemplify, in recent years, singing contest programs such as ‘Indian Idol’ and ‘Star Singer’ has uncovered many talented singers. This is good practice for Indian TV.

On the other hand, it is indubitable that there are too many such talent shows on television, which are similar in concept as well as the content. Fierce competition between satellite channels for audience ratings has led to a large number of copycat programs. The excessive production of such programs that are quite similar to each other is a huge waste of resource and audience time. Also, these similar programs bereft from originality and creativity.

Furthermore, too many programs have resulted in choice overload. It is virtually impossible to keep up with everything worth watching, and at some point, viewers need to decide what they have to watch and what they can ignore. Even the popular programs may not always be on the top lists as the quality declines.

To sum up, even though there are choices because of an abundance of TV programs, an excess of TV programs is definitely not good. We need fewer, quality programs, which make our leisure time worthwhile.