ln many countries, the government spends a large amount of money on improving internet access. why is it happening? Do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

Nowadays, the internet provides a vital role in a person’s life. It becomes a prerequisite for promoting a nation’s economy. No wonder, many governments are investing a lot in making internet available free to their citizens. This essay intends to analyze the reason behind this phenomenon. I believe that governments are being wise about doing this expenditure.

The main reason, why governments are spending on internet access is that they realize that it is not an expenditure but an investment, while it will return to them in the form of taxes. Uninterrupted and efficient internet will help them to expand their business globally, as they can communicate with international clients, import products and get vital international information. This will overall boost the country’s economy.

Secondly, the Internet acts as a social leveller. By providing internet access to the deprived and poor section of the society, the government can bring them to the mainstream and can ensure their participation in the growth and development of the country. The Internet empowers people. By giving access to vital information, it can make people aware of their rights. It provides vibrant opportunities for people living in remote areas. The Internet provides a countless number of jobs directly or indirectly, allowing people to work remotely and freelancing. Perhaps, no other inventions have had made such a tremendous impact on the life of people for the past two decades.

I believe that the governments, which are spending on free internet access, have the foresight that it is imperative spending. The Internet is a whole universe in its own. It can be used in many ways. Developed countries and intelligent people use this as a way which makes their life better and faster, by using services like technology, education and health care. For instance, nowadays we can see the use of Social Media, people are using it to share their opinion, which will help the government and organization to make a better decision. So free and fast internet is an absolute must for democracy and economy.

To conclude, there is much reason why some governments are spending on providing free internet to its people, and I consider it as a judicious expenditure with far-reaching positive consequences.