Some people believe that young people know about international pop and movie stars but know very less about famous people from the history in their own country. Why is this? How can more interest be created in young people to gain more knowledge about their own famous people from history?

It is irrefutable that in this modern era, people are flooded with a lot of information. The youth know a lot about global celebrities and have a little knowledge of historical personalities. This essay intends to analyze why this is happening, and suggest some measures, to generate interest in historical events and people.

First and foremost reason for this is due to the educational system, in which students are analyzed based on the test. Students are taught only to get good grades, so they mug up things and never try to get a thorough knowledge of the topic. They never develop an interest in history or heroes of the past. On top of that, the children are more fascinated towards celebrities because of the exposure and importance given to them by media. Furthermore, now most of the family is living in nuclear set up in which both parents are working, and because of this, children are never told about their roots and history has taken a back seat.

There are many methods in which parents, teachers and media can incorporate to ameliorate the interest of youth towards history. The educational institution can include audio-visual class to make the class exciting. It can promote educational trips to the historical place and museums, and this helps to revamp the interest of youth to the historical sites. Even the government can provide a highly subsidized ticket to the students and promote them to visit these sites. For instance, the MK Gandhi museum in Delhi aids to understand the history of freedom struggle and help to identify great personalities who worked for us.

Moreover, TV shows and movies can promote and showcase the history and contribution of different places and persons. For instance, the Great Mahabrath serial, has made a lot to understand Puranas and personalities. TV channels like “History Channel”, has shows running throughout which fosters the awareness of famous place and people who lived in past decades.

To summarize, there are several creative and innovative methods to make youth interested and aware of notable persons from the past. It is the onus of parents, teacher and media altogether to spread the awareness.