A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the modern society rich and famous command greater respect. Values such as kindness, generosity and honesty are becoming irrelevant. Therefore, I agree with the argument that worldly riches and social standing have become the new measures of a person’s worth. There are many notions which pertained behind this phenomenon and in this essay intends to discuss the reasons behind it.

One of the primary reason is that in this modern world, the media is projecting out some irrelevant fellows, hence encourages the youth to follow such wrong role models. The young generations are misguided by the notion that a person should be wealthy and famous to be successful. They read about the models, singers and actors who are having millions of followers in social media and want to be like them. They do not care whether the person they admire has a character or integrity. They are blinded by the hype surrounding these people. Not surprisingly, a recent study conducted by a well-known university revealed that the girls aged between 14- 18 years would rather be like Aishwarya Rai than Madam Curie or Mother Theresa.

However, this does not mean that people with principles have gone extinct. They are still around but they cannot find their way to a position of power or success. More often, we observed that the offices of power are held by rich and influential people who are morally corrupt. Youngsters who follow them on social media and elsewhere get an impression that the honest cannot succeed in this world. Consequently, they give up on their ideology and choose to tread the easy path that would take them to success.

To recapitulate, values have certainly become irrelevant in the twenty-first century. This could be due to various factors such as the influence of the media which constantly raves about the rich and the famous. Another factor that contributes to the demise of age-old values is that honest and ethical people are striving to succeed in this materialistic world.