individual greed and selfishness has been the basis of the modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or

disagree?

It is a fact that the modern consumeristic society is behind the materialistic thing which satisfies their greed and becomes more selfish. A people that values it privilege more than principles will soon lose both. Therefore, I agree with the statement that we should revert to the golden times where we respect our elders and neighbourhood so that we can have a happier today and happier tomorrow.

Today, we live in an era of technology where the Earth has shrunk into a global village. Everyone is connected to everybody through online like email, internet and telephone, here the warmth of relationship has taken a back seat. In the consumeristic world, people run behind the money to satisfy their needs. Hence, they become more workaholic to earn more and have no time to spare with the family and friends. People become more selfish, isolated and indifferent. To add to it, the youngsters who are at ease with the new technologies think that the elderly are good for nothing, that is why they are not respected.

On the other hand, life in the past was slow and straightforward. The joint family system was commonly seen, where everyone see each other face-to-face, and they love and respect each other. Even the elderly were taken care well with great respect and, people valued their advice. Divorces were very rare, and marriages were considered to be sacred. Moreover, community get-togethers were more often organized, and people know the farthest neighbours. Now, the situation is worse as people not even know who is living next door.

To conclude, living in the modern toxic world, we are slowly being poisoned to death. Therefore, it is clear that the traditional value-based society is a better world to live in. So we have to return conventional values to create a modern world, which has both wealth and prosperity and also respect for the family and the local community.