Adult youths ore often called up for working for the development of communities. Do you think they should work voluntarily or should they get paid? Give your opinion.

The development of communities requires the vibrant energy of young blood. There are many programs requiring voluntary work in communities, where the young could help. I firmly believe that the monetary incentives should be there to ascertain the involvement of young adults in such ventures.

The most important reason for making voluntary work being paid is that the younger generation needs pocket money to satiate their material desires. Youth are lured by the glamour of the consumeristic society. The paid voluntary work would give them a chance to earn some of these things, and needless to say, it benefits the community. Altogether, it’s a win-win situation for both sides. What more to say, it reduces petty crime, as some youngster’s resort to unethical way to get these things. So, an incentive is needed to increase the compliance for voluntary work.

Secondly, today’s youngsters have a sedentary lifestyle. They need to get motivated to do something. When they are involved in community work, they have a positive outlet to pent up their energy, rather than just wasting time energy and wasting time by sitting like a couch potato. If they know, they will get paid up for the work they would be willingly doing work and would channelize their energy in the right direction.

Finally, this monetary incentive would make them put their best in whatever they do. Some may even find this as a future career option which would be helpful to the community. Unpaid work would be done half-heartedly and would not reap the best results.

To summarize, the youth should be paid for the work they took voluntarily. The monetary incentive may be a bare minimum, but it should be there.