Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that it is more preferable for governmental structures to invest in railway systems rather than new roads. I do not agree with this statement, due to the fact that not all areas are suitable to build railways in, as well as because roads enable travelers to choose between public and private means of transportation, which is not the case for trains.

There are certain regions, where it will be more efficient to build roads. Some parts of our planet are too mountainous, which makes it highly expensive and sometimes almost impossible to build rails and stations. In other words, would governments and companies wish to develop the above-mentioned means of transportation in inconvenient territories, they will be forced to build tunnels, bridges and additional platforms. No wonder central part of Italy, which is famous for its uneven landscapes, has a very limited number of railroads, especially compared to the northern part.

Besides that, roads and highways provide with a much wider freedom of choice and flexibility in terms of travel conditions. In other words, with a developed road network the population is able to choose whether to travel via public transportation or a private vehicle: would that be a car, a bicycle or a motorcycle. It will therefore be up to the traveler to decide on the timing, the cost, the route and the companions of the trip. I observe it very often, how due to a low demand European railway companies reschedule departures and ask passengers to take a bus instead.

To conclude, the benefits of spending money on roads outweigh those of railways both because the former can be constructed on various types of landscapes and because it provides people with alternative ways to travel.