Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that governmental institutions should give preference to railways over roads, when it comes to investing money into infrastructure. In my opinion, I do not agree with this statement, since roads are more cost efficient and provide people with greater flexibility.

It is claimed by many experts that building railroads is more expensive compared to highways, when covering the same distance. Would a government decide to initiate with a railway construction, they will have to face additional costs including: building respective platforms; hiring support staff; and constantly maintaining the rails. Such a development of events may result in lack of financial resources within the country and can have a detrimental effect on the economy. A recent study conducted by the students of Yerevan State University, faculty of Economics has shown that construction and maintenance of roads is 30% cheaper than that of railways.

Besides that, roads and highways have the distinction of providing a much wider freedom of choice and flexibility in terms of travel conditions. With a developed road network, the population is able to opt for travelling via private vehicle, or to go for public transportation. Those people, who possess their own means of transportation will benefit more from newly built roads than from railways, and the remaining population will still be able to commute by bus or carpooling services. It will therefore be up to the traveler to decide on the timing, the cost and the route of the trip. The aforementioned argument has been substantiated by The New York Times research, published in summer 2017, which has shown that only 30% of Americans prefers to travel by trains.

To conclude, I strongly opine that it would be more favorable for governments to spend money on roads instead of railways, because of the two fundamental reasons: building roads is less costly; and the community will have a wider range of travel options with roads network rather than railway system.