Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The question of whether higher education is more important than work experience in terms of acquiring a decent job has been a matter of debates for many decades. In my opinion both tertiary degree and previous experience at work are important, would a person want to get a dream job.

For centuries people highly valued the great importance of educational system and of bachelor and higher degrees, in particular. It is hard to overestimate the positive impact of attending a university for the following reasons. First of all, colleges and universities provide their students with academic and profession-related knowledge, such as business and finance, psychology, biology, public health and many more. Secondly, these institutions give the attendees a unique opportunity to build useful network, which can help in one’s future career growth. And last, but not least, universities prepare young people for the adulthood, reducing the stress one might face at his/her first job.

At the same time, there are skills, which educational organizations cannot develop in students, such as time management, team-lead qualities, communication skills and so on. These are skills that are naturally evolved as a result of practical cases that an employee comes across at work daily basis. Of course, there are classes taught at universities which give theoretical knowledge on how to build up those skills, but those can only be learnt when being actually implemented.

Another advantage of gaining experience in a company is the industry-related expertise. In other words, while working in a firm the employee is able to deepen their knowledge and specialize in a certain field, whereas colleges mainly provide a more general view on various industries and spheres.

To conclude, I think both theoretical and practical knowledge is important for getting the desired job and just like in any other question, a balance should be maintained.