Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although some people are of the view that getting a degree is the key to get a competitive job, others believe that physical experience and attaining interpersonal skills is more useful. In my opinion, I think that studying university degree will offer far more prospects in the job market.

On the one hand, some people maintain that acquiring tertiary education guarantees a good place in the job market and I agree. University education opens up many competitive positions in the market to target from potential employers where employees get a market competitive salary besides getting other benefits. As an example, almost all the multinational firms offer jobs to no less than university graduates for key positions in their organisations. Another point to consider is that higher education inhibits people with the relevant knowledge and information of their domain before entering into market place. This puts them in a better position to serve the society using their knowledge and expertise. For instance, a degree in engineering would enable an individual to build dams and infrastructure projects for the welfare of community.

On the other hand, other people advocate that getting hands-on experience and communication skills is more beneficial. It is owing to the fact that experts who have the experience know the whole dynamics of the processes and can operate in their areas skillfully. In other words, a turbine engineer in a power plant needs to have relevant experience op operating a turbine before qualifying for this post. Other than experience, developing soft skills is also considered necessary to grow professionally. More often than not, skilled individuals need to coordinate with their line staff and having the skills of negotiation, persuasiveness and effective communication will prove to be vital in most of the cases.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I am of the view that pursuing a university degree in any domain is vital to target key positions in the job market.