It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Taking a year break before starting university education is on an increase these days. Younger people can get the opportunity of earning money and also exploring new places but there are some drawbacks too which need to be considered.

On the one hand, taking a year gap after completing high school can offer some prospects to aspirants to do a paid job.This will enable them to earn and save some money to buy things which otherwise would not have been possible. This money can also be used to partly fund the tertiary education later on. Another positive aspect of taking some time off before doing a degree course is that many youngsters can use this break to travel to new destinations. This experience will provide them a chance to understand and embrace the cultural and linguistic diversities.

On the other hand, a break of one year before committing to further education after school can be disadvantageous. Firstly, people often find it difficult to resume higher studies after a year long break due to a loss of motivation to learn. According to a survey by the Oxford university, 78 per cent teenagers prefer to do a paid job over higher studies if they have started earning before entering universities. Secondly, a year break makes students disoriented towards learning when they restart their education. This results in them getting lower grades in university assessments and ultimately settle for a career with lesser prospects in the future.

In conclusion, while there are some benefits of laying off tertiary education for a year after graduating from school,it can also lead to individuals dropping out of education system altogether or settling for jobs beneath their capabilities.