It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The gap year is becoming a very trendy phenomenon among most of the students these days. As, many of them prefer to spend it working in some occupations, while others tend to explore the global by traveling for a long period before starting their advanced education. This essay aims to explore the advantages and disadvantages of such a debatable matter in further detail and before coming to a conclusion.

To begin with, it’s irrefutable that a year off provides a plethora of benefits for students who wish to complete their education. First of all, it allows them to work in order to be financially independent. Since most of the well-known university have extremely high tuition fees and in terms to avoid taking very high loans, lots of students resort to work very hard to save more money to complete their education afterwards. Moreover, students will obtain unique experience which’s extremely impact on their personality. To illustrate it, there is no doubt that working with foreigners in various places might strengthen workers’s attitudes. Therefore, it helps students to be more mature and accountable on their education curve. Finally, traveling is another key of success for lots of pupils. In fact, it offers great opportunities to discover new cultures and traditions. This great feature might expand students’s views about the other civilizations as well as it helps them to accept different views.

On the flip side, taking a gap year have some negative impact on a student's life. Firstly, working life might attract many students to halt their education forever. Various pupils indeed have not enough experience to decided whether their salaries are good or bad and they might realize it later, but at that time they might be unable to cope with the fees due to other expenses. Secondly, traveling to some students might end their education forever. To elaborate, students undoubtedly still have extremely low experience, so they have very high risks to fall in problems, or be a victim fraud by someone.

To sum up, a gap year is a great chance for lots of students to earn money, to strengthen their personalities and to explore the world. Nevertheless, it also has some negative impacts such as, it might lure students to leave their education.