It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is increasingly common these days taking a year off after completing the school rather than doing continuous study and aiming for their graduation through university. This essay will highlight both benefits and drawback that results from such an approach.

To begin with the positives, student who just passed from school often tend to have no practical knowledge. So, taking a year gap will help them to work outside their comfort zone and in the real world and gain some industry experience. Secondly, this will further assist them in exploring new fields of studies. For example, a student from science background could have some valuable insights in the business world and would probably want to learn more in that respective domain. As a result, they would have better perspective which will help him in making a accurate decision by opting for multi-disciplinary course suits both his knowledge and the market requirement. On the contrary, if a student directly goes forward with education without taking a year off, there understanding of real world would be from the limited knowledge and perspective, so they generally will not be able to make a right choice in terms of their higher education and choosing right career path.

However, take a sabbatical year can also have myriad of problems. Firstly, since students may be working outside to make a living they might get tired due to daily work. As a result, they might loose interest as they do not have much time and energy to focus on preparation for higher studies. Secondly, there is possibility of people loosing drive to excel and will spend a year waiting around and doing nothing productive in that time and concomitant their resume will have a gap without any substantial work. This will result in they facing challenges during the time of job search as employers usually dislike anyone with year gap and no work experience.

In conclusion, although year off are beneficial to gain experience and real world perspective in terms of making right decision, it is important to consider that they also harm focus, concentration and are not as thorough as having studies without any gap.