With the advent of social media, more people are getting their news online instead of from print media.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for people who read news online.

Social media indeed provides a platform to stay updated from the world news throughout the day as compared to conventional print media. Online news is more accessible and interactive to people on the up side but there are some drawbacks which need to be taken into account.

On the one hand, reading news from online platforms can be advantageous. Firstly, this medium allows public to get quick access to what is happening in the world media. There area a number of world leading news agencies linked to social media websites which notify you about the latest developments in the world. Secondly, reading news online can be a more interactive experience for the user. Many news, for instance, on social media websites are now linked to a live streaming feature which let you grasp even the menial details of the event by watching video coverage on the subject matter.

On the other hand, one negative aspect of turning to online sources of news is that people often get increasingly consumed in their mobile or computer screens. It actually disconnects them from the real world and they get inconsiderate of their surrounding and other people around them who may be in need of immediate help. Another damaging effect of depending on online media is related to deterioration of one`s health. Excessive exposure to brightly lit screens can severely damage one`s eyesight and may lead up to the problem of impaired vision. For example, the Times recently reported that more than 65% people in the world today have a weaker eyesight due to incessant use of cell phones and laptop screens.

In conclusion, getting news from online portals has some benefits but lack of attentiveness towards the real world and damaging health hazards are among the potential detrimental effects.