Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Education has a major role to play for every individual in this non-stop advancing era. It acts as a theory of learning numerous skills required to work in any business environment and also involves fortifying existing skills. It is argued by some masses that getting an education is a must before aiming for a good job, while a few others think that learning hands-on experience and establishing soft skills is more relevant. However, I personally believe that university education as well as developing practical skills rather than studying theory, both sides have their individual benefits. But, completing higher education should be everyone’s priority before starting any kind of job or business. The following paragraphs will discuss both views in details along with real-life examples.

Some people in society have a thought that higher education which begins after grade 12 is necessary to be accomplished in order to get a good or desirable job. They believe that completing any specific degree from an accredited university or college makes you more eligible for getting a good job. Moreover, they have argued that most of the hiring managers of companies look for people with at least a bachelor’s degree in hand as part of their job description. For e.g. a recent study found that 90% of companies in North America prefer recruiting university degree holders, even though it is an entry-level position.

On the other hand, there are handfuls of people in the society having contrary views. They insist on developing practical skills and believe that getting an education from university is a waste of time which can be easily used to earn money as well as getting experience to enhance skills development. Although getting high position jobs after school education is difficult, they believe one has to start from lower level to reach higher levels in the future. For instance, the founders of Google as well as facebook dropped their university education plans, provided they built huge empires using their practical skills and they invested most of their time developing soft skills while getting more exposure to the industry.

I am of the opinion that everyone is not lucky to get success in a job or business after high school education regardless of practical knowledge one has, whereas on the other side getting university education should be part of every individual’s vision.

To recapitulate, availing higher education from university or college is a must for consideration by recruiters of good companies, retrospectively getting soft skills on top of university education acts as a precursor to getting more success in carrier goals of any individual.