Many processed foods and ready-made meals contain preservatives and chemicals?

What are the advantages of this?

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying in the fact that, ready to eat foods and other processed eatables contain taste enhancers and chemicals. This usage of preservatives and chemical compounds helps in maintaining the taste and quality of food in freezing temperatures. In addition, the best advantage of using them is to protect these modern foods from bacteria, giving more life and freshness to a product before it expires or becomes unfit for consumption. However, as far as I am concerned, there are numerous side effects of these food items, if eaten for a long time. This essay will discuss whether, the benefits of processed and ready-made meals that have preservatives and chemical composition, outweigh the drawbacks.

On one hand, one of the best advantages of using chemicals or preservatives in the above-mentioned foods is that it duly maintains the quality as well as the taste of food, if stored in the desired temperature. Moreover, using them in meals protects them from bacteria and even increases the life of any particular processed item. For instance, frozen vegetables like peas and beans taste much better when cooked as compared to fresh vegetables only because of taste enhancers added to them.

On the other hand, using these preservatives or chemicals can cause potentially harmful effects on an individual’s health. Though preservatives have been used for many years, and generally enhance the freshness, nutritional value and appearance of many foods, one should still be conscious of its harmful effects. To illustrate, a recent study found that more and more people are becoming dependent on these processed foods or meals, as a result causing serious health issues.

In nutshell, I am of the opinion that even if consuming such types of meals saves a lot of cooking time and satisfies your hunger instantly, it’s devastating effects should not be underestimated if consumed for a long time and I truly believe these foods stand no comparison with freshly cooked meals. Ultimately, considering all the above, I think its advantages do not outweigh the disadvantages.