Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Any language is directly proportional to the communication between two or more people. Although any individual who is speaking knows that what he is trying to convey, a person or the party on the listening side should possess an understanding of the latter’s spoken words. Experts think that the international language should be taught at the primary level of school rather than the secondary level for the overall development of children from the beginning. This will benefit children in planning their future related to higher studies and will also help them to make their communication skills more effective. Thus, its advantages definitely outweigh few disadvantages.

Firstly, the main advantage of learning a foreign language is that It opens gates for the children to do their higher studies in countries where such language is officially spoken. For example; Learning the English language is relevant for students having plans for university education in countries like the united states, UK and Canada.

Secondly, the other main significance of learning an international language can be a contribution to the skills enhancement. This will be entirely useful for any child in school in their class presentations or small stage shows like extempore and declamation which are also part of school curricular activities.

On the other hand, whether learning a foreign language has many pros but few cons cannot be ignored. Some children may not take other important subjects like Mathematics or science seriously in order to learn something new like international

language.

Another main disadvantage can be many children are time poor as most of them love to spend their leisure time in other activities like playing games and spending time with friends. Hence, if the foreign language will be added to their school curriculum at the primary level it would become quite difficult for them to cope up.

In nutshell, I pen down saying that, considering all the above, foreign language is more effective to learn from the beginning level of school because of its long-lasting benefits and it inculcates confidence in children which helps them to become outspoken.