Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

It is true that some companies tend to reach out for their employees constantly, even when the latter wishes to have a day off. In my opinion, despite some merits of this approach in terms of fixing critical situations, the disadvantages with respect to both the staff and the business outweigh those.

Admittedly, in cases when a business faces an emergency situation, the ability to contact an employee, who is temporarily not working may be somewhat beneficial. Daily operations of companies do not always go smoothly and sometimes not having any access to the only employee, who would be able to tackle the issue may have a detrimental effect. Therefore, should the employer wish to insure effectively operating business-processes, they might opt for being in touch with the staff all the time. The majority of Japanese companies, for example, do require their employees to stay in touch even after work.

However, such a violation of personal space can result in an irrecoverable harm not only to the employees, but also to the company in general. In particular, it can be observed that the companies with the highest staff turnover rates are those that respect their employees' work-life balance least. This phenomenon can actually be explained by the fact that the more frequently staff is bothered in their free time, the less enthusiastic they feel about working for the current employer and therefore, the more keen they are on quitting their job. As a result, the employer would be forced to carry additional expenses, such as costs to hire or to train a new joiner.

To conclude, while it may be argued by some that having the staff available during holidays is important for having a well performing business, I believe that such an attitude can have extremely unfavorable outcomes in terms of disappointed workers and financial inefficiency for the business.