Life in the 21st century is better compared to the previous century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since the beginning of the 21st century the world has been changing rapidly, extensively affecting such aspects of our lives, as education, healthcare, culture and leisure. In my opinion, despite some drawbacks of the current century, there are more positive sides, including development of the science and an easier access to information.

On the one hand, there are some people, who consider the changes of the 21st century as negative, due to the effect of social networks and simplification of culture. The former is related to the tendency of spending more time in social media, including network websites, such as Facebook or LinkedIn and less time on life communication and interaction. Secondly, easy-to-digest art has been highly promoted during the past years, pushing back professional art performers. The newly discovered Internet stars from YouTube, Instagram and other Web platforms have come to replace some of the well-known musicians and artists.

On the other hand, many argue that the world has become a better place to live, compared to the 20th century, to whom I agree. First of all, the revolutionary development of high technology has led to life-changing inventions in healthcare. Many diseases that were extremely perilous and even fatal in the past can now be cured easily. Besides that, one of the distinctions of the new age is the availability and free access to almost unlimited information. Would a person want to learn about historical events, scientific phenomenas or the latest discoveries worldwide, he will only need an electronic device and access to the Internet. Such amounts of information would previously take us centuries to find, digest and implement.

To conclude, even though there are some demerits that are present in the 21st century, the benefits in terms of improved healthcare and free information do outweigh those and merit to be taken into account.