Some people think that the internet has brought people closer together while others think that people and communities are becoming more isolated.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although it is considered by some that along with development and popularization of the Internet the society has become more isolated, others opine that it has led to an opposite effect. I agree to the latter point of view and believe that Web has enabled people become more connected, since it provides them with more opportunities to communicate with one another.

On the one hand, it is commonly believed that the Internet is an efficient tool to interact with others more frequently and efficiently, as it enables both long distance and instant connection, and I agree. A fundamental reason for this is that with cutting-edge technologies it has become possible to get in touch with anyone around the globe in few seconds: would that be a friend who lives abroad, or an international business partner. Currently there is a wide range of various applications and websites with the help of which a person can send instant messages, voice recordings and make video calls. In addition, with the Internet it has become possible to maintain relationships with friends and family even when people work under tough conditions and do not have enough time to meet them physically.

On the other hand, some people disagree with the abovementioned opinion, as the Internet might drag people into virtual reality and potentially minimize real life communication. To substantiate such a point of view it is suggested that online communication can have psychological repercussions on the users by making them detach themselves from the surrounding environment. As a result, the more time one spends surfing the Internet, the less attached they can become with relatives and friends; however, no factual evidence to support this idea has been reported. Moreover, it can be often noticed how people remain connected to the society, simply because they are able to constantly chat to those who they know in real life online.

To conclude, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that online technologies are most likely to have a favorable impact on human interaction, since the Internet has made socialization among people and communities easier and faster.