Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that it is more preferable to invest in railway systems rather than in new roads. I do not agree with this statement, due to the fact that not all areas are suitable to build railways in, as well as because roads enable travelers to choose between public and private means of transportation, which is not the case for trains.

To begin with, there are certain zones on our planet, where it will be more efficient to build roads, rather than railways. Some regions are too mountainous, which makes it highly expensive and sometimes almost impossible to build rails and stations. In other words, would governments and companies wish to develop the abovementioned means of transportation in rocky territories, they will be forced to build tunnels, bridges and additional platforms. No wonder central part of Italy, which is famous for its uneven landscapes, has a very limited number of railroads, especially compared to the northern part.

Secondly, it is worth mentioning that roads and highways provide with a much bigger freedom of choice and flexibility in terms of travel conditions. With a developed road network the population is able to choose whether to travel via public transportation or a private vehicle, would that be a car, or a motorcycle. It will therefore be up to the traveler to decide on the timing, the route and the companions of the trip. I observe it very often, how due to a low demand European railway companies reschedule departures and ask passengers to take a bus instead.

To conclude, the benefits of spending money on roads outweigh those of railways both because the former can be constructed on various types of landscapes and because it provides people with alternative ways to travel.