Some scientists think that there are intelligent life forms on other planets and messages should be sent to contact them. Other scientists think it is a bad idea and would be dangerous.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed by many scientists that there is intelligence on other planets. While some experts are convinced that humans should try to communicate with extra-planetary intelligent forms of lives by means of sending them messages, others consider it to be highly hazardous. In my opinion, despite some potential advantages of interraction with other forms of intelligence, the disadvantages, such as the chance of an involvement in an inter-planetary war, outweigh those.

Communication with intelligent beings from other planets might be beneficial in terms of knowledge exchange. Since the development of different mind-forms would probably take place in different ways, human beings could learn about new technologies or new approaches in various fields: would that be astronomy, physics, healthcare or philosophy. This could result in life-changing discoveries and inventions and, as a consequence, would improve the quality of life worldwide. In his lecture held in summer 2013 Stephen Howking mentioned, how the interaction with other forms of intelligence would enable the mankind to get access to a completely new types of information and knowledge.

On the other hand, I agree with those, who claim that any intersection with newly-discovered beings from other planets can drag us into a conflict with them. It will be difficult for humans to assess the possible reaction and the attitude of a form of life that we know nothing about. By getting in touch with unknown thinking creatures, humans might geopardize a whole planet, would those decide to colonize our planet or to involve people in scientific experiments. In case of such a development of events, the Earth would have to start a war, which has never been seen before. No wonder, a recent research by The New York Times showed that 60% of Americans would rather avoid any contact with extraterrestrial intelligence.

To conclude, even though communication with intelligent beings from other planets can have a potential positive impact, including the receipt of new knowledge, the negative consequences stated above outweigh those.