Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that in case of particular types of crime and criminals, unpaid social work is more preferable than putting people into jails. I agree to the above-mentioned statement, however I think there are some serious crimes, which should be punished for in a tougher way.

There are many advantages of community jobs in comparison with jails. First of all, a too severe punishment may cause a feeling of injustice for the individual, who has breached a law. For example, a teenager, who has stolen bread from a supermarket and, therefore, was sentenced to imprisonment, can get disappointed with the justice system and may in future commit even worse crimes. Secondly, there is for sure more use of people if they work for the common benefit, rather than if they spend a few months in jail. And last, but not least, this way the criminal will not feel himself/herself isolated from the society. Many dangerous crimes are commited on anti-social grounds, creating a gap among different layers of the society.

However, as I have already stated, this approach only applies to some insignificant law breaches. In case of majour crimes, such as murders, rapes, hijacks and so on, the guilty ones must be isolated. One of the reasons is that they are simply dangerous for other members of the community. In other words, they can do harm shall they be given freedom. Another reason is that the stricted their punishment is, the more likely it is that others will at least be afraid to follow their examples. From my own observations I can tell that where high moral standards don’t work, the fear of potential punishment may hold people back from the wrong path in life.

To conclude, I strongly believe that there can be certain circumstances, when free community work is more beneficial than imprisonment. At the same time, this cannot be the case for dangerous and fatal crimes.